the world academy of sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries


The TWAS Council, elected by members every three years, is responsible for supervising all Academy affairs.

The TWAS 26th General Meeting (held in Vienna, Austria, on 19 November 2015) nominated the Council that took office in January 2016, and will serve until the end of 2018:

 Chunli (China)

Immediate Past President
Jacob Palis (Brazil)

Africa: Moctar Toure (Senegal) 
Arab Region: Mohammed Hamdan (Jordan) 
Central and South Asia: Rabia Hussain (Pakistan) 
East and Southeast Asia: Khatijah M. Yusoff  (Malaysia) 
Latin America and Caribbean: Manuel Limonta-Vidal (Cuba)

Secretary General
Ajay K. Sood (India)

Samira Omar Asem (Kuwait)

Council Members
Africa: Robin Crewe (South Africa) 
Arab Region: Abdel Nasser Tawfik (Egypt) 
Central and South Asia: Habib Firouzabadi (Iran) 
East and Southeast Asia: Bishal Nath Upreti (Nepal)
Latin America and Caribbean: Mahabir Prashad Gupta (Panama)

Ex-officio Council Member
Fernando Quevedo (Guatemala) [Director, ICTP]


This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.